Walter Craig Award

Walter E. Craig Distinguished Services Award

Awarded to the attorney who has manifested adherence to the highest principles and tradition of the legal profession and service to the public in the community in which he/she lives.

Nominations are due March 1st and are to include the individual's name; firm if applicable; address & other contact information; the award for which they are being nominated and contact information of the nominators; a summary of their characteristics, experiences, and service that qualifies them for the award; and support letters from others may be included. The nomination packets should be sent to The Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, ATTN: Kevin S. Ruegg, 4201 N. 24th Street, Suite 210, Phoenix, AZ 85016 or email to [email protected].

Awards Acknowledged in conjunction with the Foundation participation in the annual Arizona State Bar Convention.

Email Nomination

2021 Awardee


Hon. Maurice Portley

It is an impossible task to summarize Judge Portley.  He has devoted decades of his life to public service.  From serving in the Army and National Guard to his time both on the Superior Court and Court of Appeals to spending his retirement working with the Casey Foundation, Judge Portley is model public servant.  He has served and led numerous committee and initiatives to make the legal system better and specifically the juvenile system more just.  

Mo has been a tireless and effective advocate for juvenile justice reform working with committees from each branch of the state government, civic organizations, and non-profit entities.  He works to influence public policy and encourage long-lasting improvements to the safety and success of children, families and the communities where they live.

Judge Portley is also known as a stellar attorney and judge bringing ‘laser focus’ to analyzing and resolving critical legal issues and impartiality in applying the rule of law to each case.  Judge Winthrop stated, “I can’t think of any other judge with whom I have served that was more collegial or more open to the opinion and concerns of others.” Judge Maurice Portley has demonstrated a lifetime to serving the public, mentoring colleagues and bettering our legal system.

2020 Awardee


Prof. Andrew Silverman

Andy’s commitment to justice and to low-income Arizonans is unparalleled. Since becoming a lawyer in 1969, he has never charged a client for his work. The list of wrongfully imprisoned men and women freed through Andy’s work is long.

His time spent assisting other access to justice institutions is also long.  In In 1976, Andy took a leave of absence from his U of A professorship to be Executive Director of Community Legal Services in Phoenix for three years. He has been on Southern Arizona Legal Aid’s board since 1978 and served as its President from 1983-1988. Andy has been a leader in the Arizona Capital Representation Project, Arizona Center for Law in the Public Interest, the Asylum Project of Arizona, Barrios Unidos Land Trust, Coalition of Arizonans to Abolish the Death Penalty, the Florence Immigrant and Refugee Rights Project, the Arizona Justice Project, William E. Morris Institute for Justice, No More Deaths, Sanctity of Life, People Against Executions, Primavera Foundation, Southern Arizona People’s Law Center, Tucson Housing Trust Fund, and the United Way.

 Andy served the University of Arizona in many capacities, including: President of the University Chapter of American Association of University Professors, Chair of the University of Arizona Committee of Eleven, member of the Executive Board of the University’s Faculty Association, served in the Faculty Senate including being a member of the Senate’s Executive Committee, and member of the Presidential Search Committee.

Andy’s commitment has changed thousands of lives for the better.

2019 Awardee


Hon. Lawrence Winthrop

“His humble and quiet disposition lays the stable foundation for a tenacious resolve to genuinely improve access to justice.”

        – Kevin Groman.

 The quote above from Mr. Groman’s support letter for Judge Winthrop’s nomination truly embodies the character of Larry’s work as an attorney and judge.  His leadership, professionalism and problem solving abilities made him the perfect choice for the first and current chair of the Arizona Supreme Court’s Access to Justice Commission. 

 A former partner of Snell & Wilmer, Judge Winthrop has accumulated many accolades and served in many leadership roles in his still prominent career.  He was the past president of the Arizona Association of Defense Counsel, Vice-Chair of the Arizona Commission on Judicial Conduct,  Chair of the Attorney Regulation Advisory Committee, and Chair of the Attorney Discipline and Probable Cause Committee .  He has served as chair on the Arizona Bar Foundation’s board and has been chair of the Valley of the Sun School’s board.  He was appointed to the Court of Appeals in 2002 and has served as the Chief Judge there for two terms.  In 2012, the Arizona Supreme Court honored Judge Winthrop as its Judge of the year.  Three years later, the State Bar of Arizona presented him with the James A. Walsh Outstanding Jurist Award.

As an attorney and later judge, many young lawyers have looked to Judge Winthrop for mentorship.  Because of his patience, sense of fairness, integrity and professionalism, he brings out the best in those around him inspiring them to become better lawyers and judges and volunteers.



Patrick McGroder


Don Bivens


Hon. Peter Cahill


William Hardin


Neal Kurn


Barbara Dawson

Justice Michael Ryan

Robert Schmitt

Prof. Robert Bartels

Bill Jones

Michael Flood

William Haug

Ted Schmidt

Daniel J. McAuliffe (Snell & Wilmer, LLP., Phoenix)

Paul Eckstein (Brown & Bain, P.A., Phoenix)

Peter D. Baird (Lewis & Roca LLP, Phoenix)

Mark Harrison (Osborn Maledon PA, Phoenix)

Larry Hammond (Osborn Maledon PA, Phoenix)

Grace McIlvain (Haralson, Miller, Pitt & McAnally)

Kenneth J. Sherk (Fennemore Craig)

John J. Bouma (Snell & Wilmer)

D. Burr Udall (Chandler, Tullar, Udall & Redhair)

Hon. Thomas Tang

Edward Jacobson (Snell & Wilmer)

Ashby I. Lohse

Calvin H. Udall (Fennemore Craig)

John P. Frank (Lewis & Roca)

Elias M. Romley (Sole Practitioner)

Charles E. Ares

H. Karl Mangum

Philip E. Von Ammon

Mark Wilmer



4201 N 24 STREET
STE. 210

Follow Us

Copyright © Arizona Bar Foundation 2021. All Rights Reserved.